The first terminal of Graz Airport in black & white.
The first terminal

Eventful history

Graz Airport can look back on numerous milestones in its centenarian history. From the establishment of the first airfield and the landing of the Conorde to the latest modernisations such as the establishment of taxiway C - Read more about the eventful history of your airport.

Also have a look at videos und historical pictures.


This year brought positive developments in two ways. With the new KLM-connection to Amsterdam another airline alliance with a hub could be brought to Graz. In addition, important extensions of infrastructure were completed – a bigger maintenance hangar for Austrian Airlines and a general aviation hangar and also the café-bistro in the departure hall was relaunched. Graz Airport was moreover acting as official airport for Special Olympics World Winter Games Austria 2017 hosted in Styria.


The field of cargo, important for local economy and industry, was restructured in 2016. Swissport International and Graz Airport founded the joint venture company Swissport Cargo Services Graz GmbH, which could increase the result of 2015 by 5.3% already in the first year.


Graz Airport sees a considerable increase in passenger figures of 7.35%. Major contributors to this development were airberlin, SWISS and Turkish Airlines, who brought new and additional flights to the schedule.


View of entrance of departure terminal.

Graz Airport celebrates its 100th birthday and is thus the oldest commercial airport of Austria. The first half of the year was clearly marked by 100 Years Graz Airport.

> The modern departure terminal. Photo: Krug/Graz Airport.


Graz Airport is awarded the prestigious ÖKOPROFIT-Award for the 14th time and within the audit "workandfamily" ("berufundfamilie") it is awarded with the basic certificate and the quality label of a women- and family-friendly company.


Another milestone in terms of safety was set. To ensure optimum use of the runways and a swift traffic handling a third taxiway (Taxiway C) is built. In addition, the two already existing taxiways (B+D) and the adjacent apron are partly overhauled in order to meet all safety specifications also in the future.


Covered train access with tower in the background

Between the airport terminal and the railway station a covered train access is built in cooperation with the Styrian government. Passengers thus get to the railway station Feldkirchen comfortably and without getting wet on rainy days; station of suburban train S5 about 300 m from terminal.

2010 – The volcano spews fire and ashes

The ash cloud of the Icelandic volcano on the Eyjafjalla glacier again and again causes closing of air space in Europe in April and May, in mid-April also in Austria. About 12,000 passengers of Graz Airport can therefore not fly.

2009 – Year of the economic crisis

The economic crisis does not leave Graz Arport entirely unaffected either. That the decrease in passenger numbers of almost 6% is comparatively small is primarily due to the introduction of new routes as well as the expansion of exisitng connections.

In June 2009 the new Heliport is ceremonially handed over to the ÖAMTC. SPAR celebrates its 400,000th customer at Graz Airport - and that, even though the store has been open less than a year at that point.

2008 – 1 million passengers

Apron and terminal of Graz Airport

In September SPAR opens the first supermarket on an Austrian airport area.

On 23 December 2008 history was eventually made: The one millionth passenger is a milestone for Graz Airport.


Graz Airport is awarded the "GerambRose" for good building for its terminal extension.


In December 2006 the 900,000th passenger is welcomed.


On 22 March the new departure hall is opended.


On 28 May all existing records are broken: More than 6,000 passengers use the airport that day. The airport celebrates its 90th anniversary and attends to almost 900,000 passengers that year.

2003 – Construction work in progress

The General Aviation Center is opended. At the same time one of the biggest construction projects in the history of the airport starts: the extension of the passender terminal to double the capacity.

On 27 November 2003 Graz Airport is glad to welcome the 800,000th passenger.


Tower in the evening

In October the new tower is opened.


The cargo building is extended as well as the apron to the North.


For the first time more than 750,000 passengers are counted.


View of terminal from the apron with airport writing

The new airport building is put into operation with a ceremony after 2 years of construction. For the opening and on the occasion of the 80th birthday of the airport an international aviation day is hosted on 29 October. More than 120,000 visitors attend this spectacular event.

1984 – 70 years Graz Airport

Well above 100,000 visitors celebrate the 70th anniversary of Graz Airport. On the occasion the festivities a big air show takes place. Exciting highlight of the show is the landing of the first "Jumbo" (B-747) of the German airline "Deutsche Lufthansa".


Old aerial image of airport area

A modern approach aid is put into operation at Graz Airport. It leads correspondingly equipped aircrafts safely to the ground at low visibility. Thus cancellations due to fog and mist can be reduced almost to zero.

1981 – The Concorde lands at Graz Airport

Another highlight in the history of Graz Airport is the landing of the Concorde of British Airways on 29 March 1981.

1969 – 40,000 passengers

The airport again has to be enlarged and modernised. A new terminal building is established and the the runway is extended to 2,500m. Already more than 40,000 passengers thus take off and land at Graz Airport this year.


Persons at the duty free shop 1966

By introducing the route Graz-Linz-Frankfurt the airport is incorporated into the international flight network.


Graz Airport is incorporated in the domestic route network of AUA. The route Vienna-Graz-Klagenfurt is developing so well that passenger volume has doubled by 1964.


View of airport building in 1962

For the first time around 1,000 passengers are counted this year.

1955 – Back under Austrian airspace sovereignty

The withdrawal of the occupying powers gives back airspace sovereignty to Austria. The constantly increasing air traffic and technological progress require improvement of the airport. A 1500-metre-long concrete runway with respective lighting system is built - it is the first new construction of that kind in Austria.


On 23 June 1951 Graz Airport is re-incorporated into international air traffic. This was authorised by the British occupying power.


The office of civil aviation is established and Graz Airport is put back under domestic administration.

1945 – Period of the occupation

On 9 May 1945 Soviet troops reach the airport, later it is occupied by the British. Other than the air traffic of the occupying powers civil and military aviation was forbidden in Austria.

1937 – An airport building is built

Due to continuous improvements of navigation and radio technology air traffic is increasing significantly. Construction of an airport building starts.


Graz is incorporated in the radio network and gets a direction-finding station.

1925 – The first flight network of Austria

Small aircraft on grass with hangar in the background - 1925

The first domestic flight network is established. The route leads from Vienna via Graz to Klagenfurt.


The airport is put under the administration of the Republic of Austria.

1920 – In possession of the Styrian government

The facilties of the "Thalerhof" are transferred to the Styrian government. At that time military and civil aviation are prohibited. People therefore turn towards gliding.


26 June 1914 is the day – The first aircraft takes off from Graz Airport.

The airport's year of birth is, however, also closely connected with the probably sadest chapter of its history: In this year an internment camp is established on the area of today's airport, in the immediate neighbourhood of the military airport. Here civilians from Bukovina and Galicia are held who are suspected of "Russophilia".

In the camp, which exists until 1917, there a bad sanitary conditions and lack of space above all in the first few months. Several epidemics break out as a consequence. Almost 1.800 people die in the four years of the camp's existence. A bone house on the cemetery of Feldkirchen becomes the last resting place for most of the deceased persons in the end.

1913 – The first airfield is established

Construction work at the former k. & k. airfield starts, hangars are built and a gras airfield is established.

The airport area at Roman times

On the area of today's airport one of the biggest Roman villas of Austria was situated 2.000 years ago. The villa served as a prestigious residence for one of the leading families of the Roman province Noricum and as the centre of a presumably very large estate.

It has always been beyond question that the villa which was partly unearthed 70 years ago is one of the most important examples of Roman architecture in Austria. However, the old plans did not allow an exact localisation of the building. Likewise it was not known whether the almost 2.000-year-old remains of the building were preserved at all.

To provide clarity ground radar measurements were taken in 2007 on those sites of the airport area under which the remains of the villa were assumed to be situated. In order not to disturb flight operations measurements were taken during the night making use of flood lights. The efforts were rewarded by excellent results: The walls of the villa coud be seen quite well, the modern measurements showed extensive concorande with the old excavation plan, but also new and additional details.

The villa is situated in an area of Graz Airport that will not be subject to possible developments and construction work in the future. Thus it will be preserved for posterity which will maybe explore the villa with more modern methods in the future.

Geschichte

Das erste Terminal des Flughafen Graz in schwarz-weiß.
Das erste Terminal

Bewegte Vergangenheit

Der Flughafen Graz konnte in seiner bereits 100-jährigen Geschichte zahlreiche Meilensteine verzeichnen. Von der Entstehung des ersten Flugfeldes, über die Landung der Concorde, bis zu den neuesten Modernisierungen wie der Errichtung des Rollweg C - Lesen Sie mehr über die bewegte Vergangenheit Ihres Flughafens.

Sehen Sie auch Videos und historische Fotos.

2013

Der Flughafen Graz erhält zum 14. Mal die begehrte ÖKOPROFIT-Auszeichnung und wird im Rahmen des Audit "berufundfamilie" als frauen- und familienfreundlicher Betrieb ausgezeichnet.

2012

Ein weiterer Meilenstein in Sachen Sicherheit wurde gesetzt. Für eine optimale Pistennutzung zur schnellen Abwicklung des Verkehrs wurde ein dritter Rollweg (Rollweg C) errichtet. Weiters wurden die beiden schon bestehenden Rollwege (B+D) und das daran anschließende Vorfeld teilweise saniert, um auch in Zukunft alle Safetyvorgaben bestens erfüllen zu können.

2011

Überdachter Bahnzugang mit Tower im Hintergrund

Zwischen dem Flughafen Terminal und der Bahnstation wird in Kooperation mit dem Land Steiermark ein überdachter Bahnzugang errichtet. Damit gelangen Passagiere bequem und trockenen Fußes zum Bahnhof Feldkirchen,  S-Bahn-Linie S5 Station ca. 300 m zum Terminal.

2010 – Der Vulkan spuckt Feuer und Asche

Die Aschewolke des isländischen Vulkans am Eyjafjalla-Gletscher führt im April und Mai immer wieder zu Luftraumsperren über Europa; Mitte April auch über Österreich. Ca. 12.000 Passagiere des Flughafen Graz können deswegen nicht befördert werden.

2009 – Jahr der Wirtschaftskrise

Die Wirtschaftskrise geht auch am Flughafen Graz nicht spurlos vorbei. Dass der Passagierrückgang von fast 6% vergleichsweise gering ausgefallen ist, kann in erster Linie auf die Einführung neuer Linien sowie den Ausbau bestehender Verbindungen zurückgeführt werden. 

Im Juni 2009 wird der neu errichtete Heliport feierlich dem ÖAMTC übergeben. SPAR feiert seine 400.000ste Kundin am Flughafen Graz – und das, obwohl die Filiale noch nicht einmal ein Jahr geöffnet ist.

2008 – 1 Million Passagiere

Vorfeld und Flughafengbäude

Im September eröffnet SPAR den ersten Supermarkt auf einem österreichischen Flughafengelände.

Am 23.12.2008 schließlich wird Geschichte geschrieben: Die millionste Passagierin ist ein Meilenstein für den Flughafen Graz 

2007

Der Flughafen Graz wird für seinen Terminal-Ausbau mit der „GerambRose“ für gutes Bauen ausgezeichnet. 

2006

Im Dezember 2006 wird der 900.000ste Passagier begrüßt.

2005

Am 22. März wird die neue Abflughalle eröffnet.  

2004

Am 28. Mai werden alle bisherigen Rekorde gebrochen: Über 6.000 Fluggäste frequentieren den Flughafen an diesem Tag. Der Flughafen feiert sein 90-jähriges Bestehen und betreut in diesem Jahr fast 900.000 Passagiere.

2003 – Es wird fleißig gebaut

Das General Aviation Center wird eröffnet. Gleichzeitig beginnt eines der größten Bauvorhaben in der Geschichte des Flughafens: der Ausbau des Fluggastgebäudes auf die doppelte Kapazität.

Am 27.11.2003 freut man sich am Flughafen Graz über den 800.000sten Fluggast.

2002

Tower am Abend

Im Oktober wird der neue Tower eröffnet.  

2001

Das neue Frachtgebäude wird eingeweiht und das Vorfeld in Richtung Norden erweitert.

2000

Erstmals werden über 750.000 Passagiere verzeichnet.

1994

Terminalansicht vom Vorfeld aus mit Flughafen Schriftzug

Das neue Flughafengebäude wird nach zweijähriger Bautätigkeit feierlich in Betrieb genommen. Zur Eröffnung sowie anlässlich des 80. Geburtstags des Flughafens wird am 29. Oktober ein internationaler Flugtag veranstaltet. Über 120.000 Besucher lassen sich dieses Ereignis nicht entgehen. 

1984 – 70 Jahre Flughafen Graz

Weit über 100.000 Besucher feiern das 70-jährige Bestehen des Flughafen Graz. Anlässlich der Feierlichkeiten findet eine große Flugschau statt. Aufsehenerregender Höhepunkt ist dabei die Landung des ersten "Jumbos" (B-747) der Deutschen Lufthansa.

1983

Alte Luftansicht Flughafenglände

Eine moderne Anflughilfe wird am Flughafen Graz in Betrieb genommen. Diese lenkt entsprechend ausgerüstete Flugzeuge bei schlechter Sicht sicher zu Boden. Damit können die Ausfälle wegen Nebels nahezu auf null gesenkt werden. 

1981 – Die Concorde landet in Graz

Ein weiterer Höhepunkt in der Geschichte des Flughafen Graz ist die Landung der Concorde der British Airways am 29. März 1981.

1969 – 40.000 Passagiere

Der Flughafen muss erneut vergrößert und modernisiert werden. Ein neues Abfertigungsgebäude wird errichtet und die Piste auf 2.500 m verlängert. Somit starten und landen in diesem Jahr bereits über 40.000 Passagiere am Flughafen Graz. 

1966

Personen beim Duty Free Shop 1966

Durch die Einführung der Linie Graz - Linz - Frankfurt wird der Flughafen in das internationale Flugnetz eingegliedert.  

1963

Der Flughafen Graz wird in das innerösterreichische Streckennetz der AUA integriert. Der Kurs Wien - Graz - Klagenfurt entwickelt sich so gut, dass sich das Passagieraufkommen bis 1964 verdoppelt.

1962

Ansicht Flughafengebäude 1962

In diesem Jahr werden erstmals ca. 1.000 Passagiere gezählt.  

1955 – Wieder unter österreichischer Lufthoheit

Der Abzug der Besatzungsmächte bringt Österreich die Lufthoheit zurück. Der ständig steigende Flugverkehr und der technische Fortschritt verlangen eine Verbesserung des Flughafens. Eine 1.500m lange Betonpiste mit entsprechender Befeuerungsanlage wird gebaut - es ist der erste Neubau dieser Art in Österreich.

1951

Am 23. Juni 1951 wird der Flughafen Graz wieder in den internationalen Luftverkehr eingegliedert. Dies wurde von der britischen Besatzungsmacht genehmigt.

1947

Das Amt der zivilen Luftfahrt wird eingerichtet und der Flughafen Graz geht wieder in heimische Verwaltung über. 

1945 – Zeit der Besatzung

Am 9. Mai 1945 erreichen sowjetische Truppen den Flughafen, später wird er von den Briten besetzt. Mit Ausnahme des Flugverkehrs der Besatzungsmächte ist die zivile und militärische Luftfahrt in Österreich untersagt.

1937 – Ein Flughafengebäude wird errichtet

Dank laufender Verbesserungen der Navigations- und Funktechnik geht es mit dem Flugverkehr steil bergauf. Der Bau eines Flughafengebäudes beginnt. 

1930

Graz wird in das Funknetz einbezogen und bekommt eine Peilstation.

1925 – Das erste Flugnetz Österreichs

Kleines Flugzeug auf Grasfläche mit Hangar im Hintergrund - 1925

Das erste innerösterreichische Flugnetz wird gebildet. Die Strecke führt von Wien über Graz nach Klagenfurt.  

1922

Der Flughafen kommt unter die Verwaltung der Republik Österreich.

1920 – Im Besitz der Steiermärkischen Landesregierung

Die Anlagen des Thalerhofes gehen an das Amt der Steiermärkischen Landesregierung über. Zu dieser Zeit sind die militärische und zivile Luftfahrt verboten. Man wendet sich daher der Segelfliegerei zu. 

1914

Am 26. Juni 1914 ist es soweit – Das erste Flugzeug hebt vom Flughafen Graz ab.

Das Geburtsjahr des Flughafens ist aber auch eng mit dem wohl traurigsten Kapitel seiner Geschichte verbunden: In diesem Jahr entsteht auf dem Areal des heutigen Flughafens, in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft zum Militärflughafen, ein Internierungslager. Hier werden Zivilpersonen aus der Bukowina und Galizien festgehalten, die man der „Russophilie“ verdächtigt.

In dem Lager, das bis 1917 besteht, herrschen vor allem in den ersten Monaten sehr schlechte sanitäre Bedingungen und Platzmangel, wodurch mehrmals Epidemien ausbrechen. Fast 1.800 Menschen versterben in den vier Jahren, in denen das Lager existiert. Ein Karner auf dem Friedhof von Feldkirchen wird für die meisten Verstorbenen schließlich die letzte Ruhestätte. 

1913 – Das erste Flugfeld entsteht

Die Arbeiten am damaligen k. u. k. Flugfeld beginnen, Hangars werden gebaut und ein Grasflugfeld wird errichtet. 

Das Flughafenareal in der Römerzeit

Auf dem Areal des jetzigen Flughafengeländes stand vor 2.000 Jahren eine der größten römerzeitlichen Villen Österreichs. Die Villa diente einer der führenden Familien der römischen Provinz Noricum als repräsentativer Wohnsitz und als Zentrum eines wahrscheinlich sehr ausgedehnten Landbesitzes.

Dass die vor 70 Jahren teilweise ausgegrabene Villa eines der bedeutendsten Bauwerke der Römerzeit in Österreich ist, stand stets außer Frage. Die alten Pläne erlaubten jedoch keine exakte Lokalisierung des Bauwerks. Ebenso war nicht bekannt, ob die fast 2.000 Jahre alten Baureste überhaupt noch erhalten waren. 

Um Klarheit zu schaffen, wurden im Jahr 2007 Bodenradarmessungen auf jenen Bereichen des Flughafenareals durchgeführt, unter denen man die Reste der Villa vermutete. Um den Flugbetrieb nicht zu stören, fanden die Messungen in der Nacht bei Flutlicht statt. Der Lohn für diesen Aufwand waren ausgezeichnete Ergebnisse: Die Mauern der Villa zeichneten sich sehr gut ab, die moderne Messung zeigte weitgehende Übereinstimmung mit dem alten Grabungsplan, aber auch neue, zusätzliche Details. 

Die Villa liegt in einem Bereich des Flughafen Graz, der von möglichen Ausbauten in der Zukunft nicht betroffen ist. So bleibt sie für die Nachwelt erhalten, die sie vielleicht später einmal mit noch moderneren Methoden erforscht.

Letzte Änderung: 09.01.2014 um 23:33 Uhr